
VERMONT 	 AGENCY OF HUMAN SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT OF DISABILITIES, AGING AND INDEPENDENT LIVING 

Division of Licensing and Protection 
103 South Main Street, Ladd Hall 

Waterbury VT 05671-2306 
http://www.d1p.vermont.gov  
Voice/TTY (802) 871-3317 

To Report Adult Abuse: (800) 564-1612 
Fax (802) 871-3318 

March 5, 2014 

Ms. Melissa Greason, Administrator 
Washington Elms 
126 Elm Street 
Bennington, VT 05201 

VIA FAX (802) 447-8242 AND FIRST CLASS MAIL 

Dear Ms. Greason: 

The Division of Licensing and Protection completed the complaint investigation at your facility 
on February 18, 2014. The purpose of the survey was to determine if your facility was in 
compliance with Vermont Residential Care Home Regulations. The survey statement is enclosed. 
This survey found that your facility was in substantial compliance with the participation 
requirements. However, there is one deficiency, which requires a plan of correction. Please 
write/type the Plan of Correction in the space provided. A completion date for each plan of 
correction must be indicted in the far right hand column. Attach additional pages if necessary. 

Please sign, date, and indicate your title on the bottom of the first page of the report and return 
this report to this office no later than March 18, 2014. 

Plan of Correction POC 

Your POC must contain the following: 

• What action you will take to correct the deficiency; 

• What measures will be put into place or what systemic changes you will make to ensure 
that the deficient practice does not recur; and, 

• How the corrective actions will be monitored so the deficient practice does not recur. 

• The dates corrective action will be completed. 

If you disagree with the existence or accuracy of a deficiency, please provide comments in the 
space provided beneath the deficiency statement. 
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You may also request an informal review of all or part of the contents of the notice at any time 
prior to March 18, 2014 letter by calling Frances Keeler, RN, MSN, DBA, Assistant Division 
Director, or Clayton Clark, Division Director at 871-3317. If you are not satisfied with the 
outcome of the informal review with the Division, you may request a review by the 
Commissioner of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living. To request a review with the 
Commissioner, call (802) 871-3350. 

The Department is authorized to impose sanctions for failure to correct a deficiency and/or failure 
to provide proof of correction by the specified Correction Date. Depending on the nature of the 
violations, the following sanctions may be imposed: administrative penalties of up to $10.00 per 
resident or $100.00, whichever is greater, for each day the violation remains uncorrected; 
suspension, revocation or modification of an existing license; refusal to renew a license; 
suspension of admission or transfer of residents to an alternative placement; injunctive relief to 
enjoin any act or omission; and the appointment of a receiver for a facility. If you feel strict 
compliance with the law or regulations would impose a substantial hardship, you may apply to 
the Department for a variance as stated under Section III of the Residential Care Home Licensing 
Regulations. You must do so prior to March 18, 2014, 

Appeals  

As noted above, you may seek an informal review from Frances Keeler, RN, MSN, DBA, Assistant 
Division Director, or a Commissioner's review of this decision. In addition, you have a right to request 
a fair hearing with the Human Services Board. Decisions by the Department of Disabilites, Aging and 
Independent Living can be appealed to the Human Services Board pursuant to 3 V.S.A. §3091. The 
request for a fair hearing before the Human Services Board must be made within thirty (30) days of 
your receipt of the notice of this decision, and can be made by writing to the Board at 120 State Street, 
Montpelier, VT 05620-4301. You have a right to appear before the Board and to present witnesses and 
other evidence with regard to the case. You also have a right to be represented by an attorney at the 
Human Services Board fair hearing. 

Please contact me at 871-3317 if you have any questions. 

Sincerely, 

Pamela M. Cota, RN 
Licensing Chief 
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